Transmute Magic (Action Powers)

From Hastur
Jump to: navigation, search
ActionT4 logo
Templates for Action
Main article: Powers (Action)

Animate Object

Basic Action

Animate an object you can see up to Create meters away and weighting no more than Mind kilos.

The object becomes an Unnamed Character with the object's Toughness and a score equal to your Mind in all other attributes. It uses your skills. It takes no actions on its own, you must use a Basic Action in order to give the item a basic action. It otherwise works as if you were holding the object. If the object takes a Hit the animating force is defeated you cannot animate this object again this scene.

If the object is attended, it takes a Create roll against the holders Dodge to animate it. On a success the holder of the object must either let go of it or loose three shots; on an Outcome matching its Reflexes it suffers both results.

Calculate Location

Limit Break

You learn the physical location of an object or creature. You must have enough information about the target to describe it uniquely; if you have a general description you will find the nearest target that fits the description. This can include name, number, origin, dat of origin, or a physical description. You can use this to discern your own location if you are lost. It can also be used to analyze a teleport performed in the area in the last hour, which tells you what teleported where.

Elixir

Limit Break

You prepare an elixir imbuing the drinker with any one power whose Form you know. You do not need to know the specific power.

Anyone can drink such an elixir to gain a single use of the power. Actually using the power takes its normal action type. Using the elixir itself takes no extra time, it is a part of the use of the power. If the power affects only the drinker, he can continue to use it up for the current scene (or as long as it makes sense) If the power is a Limit Break that affects only the drinker, he need not be Focused to use the elixir, but can only use it once.

You can only use this power once per session. At the end of a session, you can choose to stop powering any of your elixirs still in existence. If you don't, you can't replace that elixir this session, the existing elixir counts as the once per session use. An elixir you have stopped powering ends unless it has become a part of another creature's Gadget Pool or similar ability.

This power can be taken several times; each time lets you prepare one additional elixir each session. All elixirs become inert at the end of a session, except as the GM feels the story requires.

This is a meta-power that affects other powers. In some campaign worlds there is a strong Origin Divide among different origins. Check with your GM regarding your campaign. Origins that are opposed cannot cannot be modified by meta-powers; it is as if powers from the opposing origin was actually a schtick rather than a power.

Extend Duration

Limit Break

You can extend the duration of any one power that is already in effect to last a whole session. Does not apply to stances. The power can still be dispelled (It now counts as a Limit break for dispel purposes) or end in some other way that does not involve its duration running out.

Homunculus

Inherent and Focus

You have a spirit companion, a Henchman Extra with a maximum skill equal to your Create who looks out for your interest and will accompany you on adventures. This creature is small, with a maximum Body of 4, tough Superstrength can overcome this limitation. Most homunculi appear as small humanoids; fey, angels, or devils. This is not an absolute rule; homunculi can have any appearance.

Your homunculus is not entirely a separate creature; it is formed out of your magical essence. This means that the two of you are always in telepathic contact. You can re-absorb this essence when touching the homunculus to Focus. This destroys the homonoculus. At the beginning of each session, your homunculus re-forms beside you regardless of where it were earlier, even if it was dead or at the other end of the universe.

Runetrap

Limit Break

You write a line of script or runes on an object and select a Finisher you can use. This writing is obvious but innocuous; it can be hidden as decoration or as a part of a written text. You also set a simple condition when the runes will trigger, such as "when it changes ownership for the third time", "when it comes into the possession of Fred Fod", or "on Apirl 1st". A runetrapped object must be accepted or picked up; you cannot plant it on somebody, but anyone holding and using the object is considered to have accepted it. When triggered, the finisher affects the current holder or owner of the object. If no-one has accepted the object, the creator is considered the owner.

The runetrap is a Trap and can be recognized for what it is with an Examination. If it is recognized, it can be disarmed or dispelled normally. If the object is destroyed the trap triggers.

Spell Preparation

Limit Break

Use Spell Preparation to prepare any one power you do not know, but whose Form you do know.

You know and can now use the prepared power. Once you use the power, Spell preparation ends at the end of the next round. If the power is a stance or inherent, you can continue to keep it up for one scene (or as long as it makes sense). If you prepare a new power, you lose the previously prepared one.

This power can be taken several times; each time lets you prepare one additional power or one additional use for a power you have already prepared. It is considered normal to start with a spell prepared for use with this power.

This is a meta-power that affects other powers. In some campaign worlds there is a strong Origin Divide among different origins. Check with your GM regarding your campaign. Origins that are opposed cannot cannot be modified by meta-powers; it is as if powers from the opposing origin was actually a schtick rather than a power.