Summon Order (Action Powers)

From Hastur
Jump to: navigation, search
ActionT4 logo
Templates for Action
Main article: Powers (Action)

Curb Advantage

Basic Action, Limit Break, or Finisher

Make an opposed Impress, on a success the target's highest Attribute value suffers a penalty of -1 until the end of the scene. This can be increased by various factors:

  • If performed as a Limit Break, the penalty is increased by two.
  • If the attack scores an Outcome matching the target's Mind, the penalty is increased by two.
  • If performed as a Finisher, the penalty is increased by two and the effect is a Curse - including any previous use of Curb Advantage.

Down by Law

Limit Break

Read a judgement made by a court with jurisdiction in the area where your target committed a crime. This judgement must name your target, the crime, and a punishment. A judgement can be against a group the target belongs to. Make an opposed Impress roll. On a success, the target suffers a finisher appropriate to the punishment. You need not know this finisher. On a failure, you cannot use this power against that target again this session.

Here and Now

Basic Action

Make an opposed Impress roll to prevent the target from using teleport powers or from being granted extra actions (like those from Instant Action or Hands-On Leadership) for the rest of the scene.

Oathbinding

Limit Break

You can only use this power against someone who has broken an oath or solemn promise in the recent past (generally in the current play session, but for important vows this may linger forever). Make a pronouncement declaring the oath he has broken. If you succeed at an an opposed Impress roll, you can use a Finisher against him, just as if you had defeated him in combat.

Power Shout

Limit Break

You make a Scare stunt that affects all enemies within Mind meters. In addition, this stunt is an attack doing Sonic damage equal to your Mind.

Roar of the Lion

Trigger Action (Combo)

You manifest your power in a stunning and terrifying yell, shocking your foe and breaking his nerve. Use this ability just before making a Melee attack. You can immediately make a Browbeat or Scare attempt.

Summon Virtue

Basic Action

You can seize a creature whose True Name you know through time and space and bring it into your presence. The creature must be in another dimension or juncture, and not currently summoned, imprisoned or otherwise occupied. You can summon one Henchman or a number of Minions of the same type equal to your Mind. It takes an Impress roll against the creature's Dodge or Impress to summon.

The creature immediately makes an initiative check to see when it will next act, but this cannot be earlier than the shot in which it is summoned. In future rounds, the creature has its own initiative score.

You can also use this power again on a creature (or group of unnamed creatures) you have summoned along with an Impress roll against the creature's Dodge or Impress, in order to extend your control over it until the end of the following round. During combat, you must succeed at this action each round or the creature will break free, but you can try repeatedly in each round. Out of combat, you only need to roll every 15 minutes, but any failed roll means you lose control of the creature.

You can also use this power with an Impress roll against the creature's Dodge or Impress to dismiss a summoned creature whose True Name you know, even one you did not summon yourself. Summoned creatures can also be dispelled using other dispel powers, which like all dispels becomes harder and harder as they remain in their world.

Summoned creatures can perceive your aura as you summon them, and know who you are. Their initial attitude depends on your reputation among this kind of creature and whether you have an allegiance or pact with them. In any case, it still takes a roll every hour and for each task it is ordered to do to keep the creature under control and on your plane.

You can release a summoned creature from your direct control. This means the creature can remain on your plane indefinitely, but that your control over it ends; you must bargain with it or use other powers to acquire its services. Sometimes a creature is summoned simply to cause terror or otherwise freed to act out its instincts and inclination. Such a creature can still be banished or dispelled, and someone who knows its true name can seize control of it as noted above.

This power only works on Virtues.

The Imperial Whisper

Basic Action

The Imperial Whisper allows you to give a command which cannot be disobeyed. The target immediately executes your command, not waiting until his next shot comes up and not expending any shots.

In practical terms, this means you can give one simple, direct, non-conditional order or task that he will do immediately. You cannot order him how he is to fulfill the task, nor can you order him into inaction, so an order to "attack silently" or "stand still" is meaningless. The command generally cannot be longer than three words. Typical examples are "Attack that man!" or "Cut my bonds!". Within these limitations, the target immediately does his best to obey the spirit of your instructions, without nefarious twists.

You must succeed on an opposed Impress roll. The target must understand the language you speak. Anyone closer to you than the target is will be able to overhear the command. A willing target does not require a roll.