Summon Order (Action Powers)

From Action
Jump to navigation Jump to search
ActionT4 logo
Templates for Action
Main article: Powers (Action)


Basic Action

You amplify the speech and music you and allies make until the end of the scene, giving your Impress stunts based on sound Long range.

Mark of Justice


You mark the target in a way that is culturally recognized as a symbol of shame and crime. The target is Branded. This is often tied to the Ego Focus limitation.

Curb Advantage

Basic Action, Limit Break, or Finisher

Make an opposed Impress, on a success the target's highest Attribute value suffers a penalty of -1 until the end of the scene. This can be increased by various factors:

  • If performed as a Limit Break, the penalty is increased by two.
  • If the attack scores an Outcome matching the target's Mind, the penalty is increased by two.
  • If performed as a Finisher, the penalty is increased by two and the effect is a Curse - including any previous use of Curb Advantage.

Down by Law

Limit Break

Read out loud a judgement made by a court with jurisdiction in the area where your target committed a crime. This judgement must name your target, the crime, and a punishment. The judgement can be against a group the target belongs to. Make an opposed Impress roll. On a success, the target suffers a finisher appropriate to the punishment. A default Finisher if a better one can not be found is Mark of Justice. You need not know this finisher. On a failure, you cannot use this power against that target again this session.

Here and Now

Basic Action

Make an opposed Impress roll to prevent the target from using teleport powers or from being granted extra actions (like those from Instant Action or Hands-On Leadership) for the rest of the scene.


Limit Break

You can only use this power against someone who has broken an oath or solemn promise in the recent past (generally in the current play session, but for important vows this may linger forever). Make a pronouncement declaring the oath he has broken. If you succeed at an an opposed Impress roll, you can use a Finisher against him, just as if you had defeated him in combat.

Power Shout

Limit Break

You make an opposed Impress against all enemies within an area with a diameter equal to your Mind, you must be in this area. On a success, targets lose 3 shots. On an Outcome matching a target's Body you also inflict one Hit.

Roar of the Lion

Trigger Action (Combo)

You manifest your power in a stunning and terrifying yell, shocking your foe and breaking his nerve. Use this ability just before making a Melee attack. You can immediately make a Browbeat or Scare attempt.

Summon Virtue

Basic Action

You can seize a creature whose True Name you know through time and space and bring it into your presence. The creature must be in another dimension or juncture, and not currently summoned, imprisoned or otherwise occupied. You can summon one Henchman or a number of Minions of the same type equal to your Mind. It takes an Impress roll against the creature's Dodge or Impress to summon. The creature immediately makes an initiative check to see when it will next act, but this cannot be earlier than the shot in which it is summoned. In future rounds, the creature has its own initiative score. You can also use this power again on a creature (or group of unnamed creatures) you have summoned along with an Impress roll against the creature's Dodge or Impress, in order to extend your control over it until the end of the following round. During combat, you must succeed at this action each round or the creature will break free, but you can try repeatedly in each round. Out of combat, you only need to roll every scene, but any failed roll means you lose control of the creature. While a creature is under your control, you can order it to return to its home plane at any time. A creature that breaks free of control can choose to return on its own. Summoned creatures can also be Dispelled. You can also use this power to take control of a summoned creature did not summon yourself whose True Name you know. This requires an Impress roll against the creature's Dodge or Impress or against its summoner's Impress if he is present.

A creature cannot be ordered to perform deeds alien to its nature; an air elemental cannot be summoned into solid earth or water, an Epitome cannot act against its spiritual inclination, and so on. Summoned creatures can perceive your aura as you summon them. Their initial attitude depends on your reputation among this kind of creature and whether you have an allegiance or pact with them. In case of extreme misalignment, you may not even be able to summon them at all.

When you lose control of a summoned creature it usually returns home shortly; the creature knows anyone who knows its true name can seize control of it as noted above. But the creature might choose to remain on your plane indefinitely to act out its inclination. In order to acquire lengthy services you must bargain with the creature, or use a Power Experiment or other means to acquire its services. If you bargain a creature into a formal pact, it is considered controlled for as long as the conditions of the pact are met and cannot break the contract or return to its home until the pact expires.

This power only works on Virtues.

The Imperial Whisper

Basic Action

The Imperial Whisper allows you to give a command which cannot be disobeyed. The target immediately executes your command, not waiting until his next shot comes up and not expending any shots.

In practical terms, this means you can give one simple, direct, non-conditional order or task that he will do immediately. You cannot order him how he is to fulfill the task, nor can you order him into inaction, so an order to "attack silently" or "stand still" is meaningless. The command generally cannot be longer than three words. Typical examples are "Attack that man!" or "Cut my bonds!". Within these limitations, the target immediately does his best to obey the spirit of your instructions, without nefarious twists.

You must succeed on an opposed Impress roll. The target must understand the language you speak. Anyone closer to you than the target is will be able to overhear the command. A willing target does not require a roll.