Summon Fey (Action Powers)

From Action
Jump to navigation Jump to search
ActionT4 logo
Templates for Action
Main article: Powers (Action)

Align Fairy


You can change a fairy creature, aligning it with a new natural phenomenon or ideal. This only work on faeries that have an alignment to either a natural feature (tree, element, place etc) or ideal (seelie, unseelie, death, etc). This can be a dramatic change, but the fairy still remains essentially the same creature. For example, a merciless red cap can be changed into a gnome, but would still be rather militant, It could not be changed into a brownie unless it was already solitary.

In order to align a fey with something, that thing must be present. You cannot change a dryad (tree fairy) into am oread (mountain fairy) unless you actually are at a mountain. You cannot change seelie into unseelie unless there are other unseelies present, or if you are in a place strongly aligned with the uneelie.

Fairy Law


You institute a law that applies to locale where you are the acknowledged master. The stronger your social position, the larger this area is. You must announce the law very publicly, but can do so in a mysterious way or withhold certain details. A creature in the area of a faerie law is allowed an opposed Know roll against your Impress. If the roll fails, he has heard of the law but only as a vague rumor; his actions are likely to be very cautious and superstitious. If the roll succeeds, he knows the letter of the law. You normally have only one faerie law running at any time. You can buy the power multiple times to institute several fairy laws. If a faerie law you instituted is negated, you can institute a new (but not the same law again) in the next session. If you lose control of the location, the law still persists. Faerie Law is considered a Curse on the locale and can be broken as such, removing the law. The way to break the curse always resonates with the law, often demanding the law is broken and the consequences challenged or remedied. Another common means is a challenge against the current owner of the land. The forbidden act is often a common thing such as eating meat pies of a Friday or entering and leaving a building by the same door. A creature breaking this law is automatically punished by a Finisher chosen when the law is instituted. At your option when you institute the law the curse can strike the land instead of the trespasser, rapidly turning it into a nightmare wasteland inhabited by malicious creatures. You cannot negate this punishment; once the law is instituted, it applies to all, even you. Some faerie laws demand actions rather than forbid them, but exact rules for such laws must be individually crafted by the GM, often as the plot of an adventure.



For the crime of watching the forest queen and her maids dance you must always join any dance you see, until you have danced with a maid of each of the 12 tribes of Ollin, on pain of being transformed into a cloud of putrid gas!

You Curse the target with a Geas, a condition he must obey and fulfill or suffer a Finisher you choose when you inflict the geas. You need not know the finisher you select. If the target actively works against the purpose of the geas, or if he fails to try and fulfill the geas for an entire week, he suffers the selected Finisher. The more demanding the geas is, the easier the Curse is to break. The exception is that a geas linked to the target's earlier actions, making for poetic justice, can be incredibly hard to break. If the target accepts the geas and ceases trying to have it removed, it counts as a Limitation and gives the target extra points.

Summon Fey

Basic Action

You can seize a creature whose True Name you know through time and space and bring it into your presence. The creature must be in another dimension or juncture, and not currently summoned, imprisoned or otherwise occupied. You can summon one Henchman or a number of Minions of the same type equal to your Mind. It takes an Impress roll against the creature's Dodge or Impress to summon. The creature immediately makes an initiative check to see when it will next act, but this cannot be earlier than the shot in which it is summoned. In future rounds, the creature has its own initiative score. You can also use this power again on a creature (or group of unnamed creatures) you have summoned along with an Impress roll against the creature's Dodge or Impress, in order to extend your control over it until the end of the following round. During combat, you must succeed at this action each round or the creature will break free, but you can try repeatedly in each round. Out of combat, you only need to roll every scene, but any failed roll means you lose control of the creature. While a creature is under your control, you can order it to return to its home plane at any time. A creature that breaks free of control can choose to return on its own. Summoned creatures can also be Dispelled. You can also use this power to take control of a summoned creature did not summon yourself whose True Name you know. This requires an Impress roll against the creature's Dodge or Impress or against its summoner's Impress if he is present.

A creature cannot be ordered to perform deeds alien to its nature; an air elemental cannot be summoned into solid earth or water, an Epitome cannot act against its spiritual inclination, and so on. Summoned creatures can perceive your aura as you summon them. Their initial attitude depends on your reputation among this kind of creature and whether you have an allegiance or pact with them. In case of extreme misalignment, you may not even be able to summon them at all.

When you lose control of a summoned creature it usually returns home shortly; the creature knows anyone who knows its true name can seize control of it as noted above. But the creature might choose to remain on your plane indefinitely to act out its inclination. In order to acquire lengthy services you must bargain with the creature, or use a Power Experiment or other means to acquire its services. If you bargain a creature into a formal pact, it is considered controlled for as long as the conditions of the pact are met and cannot break the contract or return to its home until the pact expires.

This power only works on Fairies, Gifted, and Strange.