Animist Medium (Apath)

From Action
Jump to navigation Jump to search
ApathApath Logo
Unofficial rules compendium

An animist medium is an animist who embodies spirits, allowing them to take over his body. This can either be a covert channeling where the power manifests as a spell, or overt when the spirit manifests directly in the body of the animist.

Class Information

This is a animist archetype.

Hit Dice: d8.

Class Features

The animist medium man has all animist class features, except as noted.

Allied Monsters

Remove all summon nature's ally spells from the animist medium's 's spell list. Add all summon monster spells to the animist medium's spell list. An animist medium always gains the latest summon monster as known spells as they gain access to a new spell level. These spells cannot be exchanged for different spells at higher levels. Allied monsters replaces allied spirits.

Animist Medium

Whenever you summon a creature, you have the option to have that creature manifest inside your body. This applies to all creatures called trough spells or spell-like abilities. When this happens, your body is displaced into an extra-dimensional space, and replaced with the summoned or called creature. In effect, you now play the creature instead of your normal character. You can perceive what the possessing creature perceives and can communicate telepathically with it. This telepathy transcends language barriers, but this only applies to communication between you and the creature. You can order the creature to speak, but only in languages it knows.

When the effect ends or the creature is defeated, the creature disappears and you return to the world in the same space the creature occupied. If the possession ends for some reason, such as if the creature is exorcised, this power immediately ends and you return from your extra-dimensional space. A summoned creature is immediately dismissed, while a called creature is affected normally depending on the power that forced it out of your body. Note that it is the summoned creature that possesses you, not the other way around, and any power that prevents possession can only affect the creature, not you.

Since the possession is willing, effects like protection from evil does not prevent the creature from possessing you, but still protect others from the possessed creature normally.

You and the creature do not necessarily have the same space, and sometimes you may have different movement modes that would prevent you from occupying the same space when you change spaces. In every case, you are moved into a legal spot by the shortest route possible, suffering no ill effects.

When you and a creature change places, any spells or effects transfer to the one outside the extra-dimensional space. This means that any beneficial and debilitating effects effects whoever is the active part, you or the creature. Creatures possessing you are considered legal target for any spells that could affect you, but you are not automatically a legal target for spells affecting a creature that has possessed you; if an effect that could not affect you would be transferred to you in this way, it ends instead. Gear goes with you into the extra-dimensional space; the creature appears with whatever gear is in its description.

While in this extra-dimensional space, there is no line of effect between you and any other creature, except that you are considered to be touching the creature and can affect it with spells and powers. You can communicate with any and all summoned creatures under your control. If you have some way to communicate across dimensional boundaries, you can use that means to communicate with others than your controlled creature. No action you take in extradimensional space will trigger an attack of opportunity, but the creature(s) you control trigger attacks of opportunity normally. You have the normal degree of control over the summoned creature, depending on how it was controlled or called.

This replaces spirit guide and guide concentration.

Possessed Summoning (Su)

At 3rd level, you can summon creatures while in your extra-dimensional space; the summoned creature either replaces the one possessing you or is summoned normally. In either case, you are assumed to be touching the summoned creature in the round it appears, which allows you to cast spells on it in that round only.

This replaces spirit protection.

Fast Possession (Su)

At 6th level, when casting a summon nature's ally spell to summon a single creature to possess you, the casting time of the spell is reduced to a standard action.

This replaces spirit ward.

Possession Trap (Su)

At 5th level, when you are in the presence of a creature that can possess others, whether it is currently possessing another creature or not, you can force that creature to possess your body as a standard action. You cannot use this ability when you are in your extra-dimensional space, but if successful you are moved there. The creature must be within 30 ft. and is allowed a Will saving throw (DC 10 + ½ your animist level + your Charisma modifier). If the saving throw fails the creature possesses you as outline in Controlled Possession, and you can control its actions. If the saving throw succeeds, the creature has the option to ignore you or to possess you normally, with the creature in control for one round.

Each round while possessing you, a creature with possession powers must make the above Will saving trow. If it fails, you are in control for this round and can move to your extra-dimensional space if you are not already there. If the saving throw succeeds, the creature is in control. If you are in your extra-dimensional space the creature can act normally or choose to end the possession. If you are physically present to be possessed, the creature controls your body as it usually would.

This replaces exorcism.

Slough Damnation (Su)

At 12th level, when moving to or from your extra-dimensional space, you can select which effects to transfer to or from yourself to the possessing creature. This allows you to get rid of unwanted effects while keeping beneficial enhancements.

This replaces greater spirit protection.

Fast Summons

At 15th level, all your summon nature's ally spells are cast as a standard action.

This replaces guide walk.

Possessed Spellcasting (Su)

At 18th level, you can cast spells while in control of a creature possessing you, and those spells take effect in normal space just as if you were physically present to cast them. Your spellcasting cannot be interrupted and does not cause attacks of opportunity as you are not in fact present to be interrupted.

This replaces spirit loyalty.

Table: Animist Medium

Base Attack
Special Spells per Day
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
1st 1st +0 +0 +0 +2 Allied monsters, animist medium, animist taboo, detect spirits, orisons, spirit channel 1d6 2
2nd +1 +0 +0 +3 Placate spirit 3
3rd +2 +1 +1 +3 Spirit channel 2d6, possessed summoning 4
4th +3 +1 +1 +4 Ghost warrior 5 3
5th +3 +1 +1 +4 See the unseen, spirit channel 3d6 6 5
6th +4 +2 +2 +5 Spirit ward 6 5 3
7th +5 +2 +2 +5 Seal spirit, spirit channel 4d6 6 6 4
8th +6/+1 +2 +2 +6 Possession trap 6 6 5 3
9th +6/+1 +3 +3 +6 Spirit channel 5d6, Spirit quest 6 6 6 4
10th +7/+2 +3 +3 +7 Ghost champion 6 6 6 5 3
11th +8/+3 +3 +3 +7 Banish spirit, spirit channel 6d6 6 6 6 6 4
12th +9/+4 +4 +4 +8 Slough damnation 6 6 6 6 5 3
13th +9/+4 +4 +4 +8 Spirit channel 7d6 6 6 6 6 6 4
14th +10/+5 +4 +4 +9 Shadow walk 6 6 6 6 6 5 3
15th +11/+6/+1 +5 +5 +9 Fast summons spirit channel 8d6 6 6 6 6 6 6 4
16th +12/+7/+2 +5 +5 +10 Tie down spirits 6 6 6 6 6 6 5 3
17th +12/+7/+2 +5 +5 +10 Spirit destination, spirit channel 9d6 6 6 6 6 6 6 6 4
18th +13/+8/+3 +6 +6 +11 Possessed spellcasting 6 6 6 6 6 6 6 5 3
19th +14/+9/+4 +6 +6 +11 Ghost general, spirit channel 10d6 6 6 6 6 6 6 6 6 4
20th +15/+10/+5 +6 +6 +12 Planar deputation 6 6 6 6 6 6 6 6 5

Summary of Changed Class Abilities

These abilities of the original class are lost or modified in this archetype:

  • Spirit Guide
  • Spirit Protection
  • Exorcism
  • Spirit Ward
  • Greater Spirit protection
  • Guide Concentration
  • Guide Walk
  • Spirit Loyalty
OGL logo.png The text in this article is Open Game Content. It is covered by the Open Game License v1.0a, rather than the Action copyright. To distinguish it, these items will have this notice. If you see any page that contains OGL material and does not show this license statement, please contact one of the Action administrators. Please note that images used in article may have different copyright than the text.