Iconodule (Apath)

From Hastur
Jump to: navigation, search
ApathApath Logo
Unofficial rules compendium

An iconodule is a wizard who gains access to divine power through devotion to a religious icon.

Class Information

This is a hybrid class, a combination of cleric and wizard.

Alignment: Any.

Hit Dice: d6.

Class Features

This archetype has all normal wizard class features, except as noted.

Clerical Studies

At 1st level, an iconodule adds all cleric orisons (zero level cleric spells) to his spell list. An iconodule begins play with three orisons of his choice in his spell book, plus an additional number of orisons equal to his Wisdom modifier. He can add additional orisons to his spellbooks as if they were wizard spells. An iconodule can use divine spell-trigger devices, such as scrolls, as long as the spell to be used is on his spell list.

At 2th level, and every 2 levels thereafter, add another level of cleric spells to the iconodule's spell list and another two cleric spells to the iconodule's spellbook. This begins with 1st level cleric spells at level 2 and finishes by adding 9th level cleric spells to the spell list at 18th level. These spells are used as if they were wizard spells.

An iconodule must have access to his bonded icon to prepare spells gained from this ability.

This replaces arcane school.

Bonded Icon

Icondodules begin play with a bonded icon at no cost. A bonded icon is a holy (or unholy) symbol with special significance to the iconodule. It must must be held in one hand to be used. If an icondodule attempts to cast a spell without his bonded icon in hand, he must make a concentration check or lose the spell. The DC for this check is equal to 20 + the spell's level.

A bonded icon can be used once per day to cast any one cleric spell on the iconodule's spell list, even if the spell is not recoded in his spellbook. This spell is treated like any other spell cast by the icondodule, including casting time, duration, and other effects dependent on the icondodule's level. This spell cannot be modified by metamagic feats or other abilities.

At level 3 an iconodule can add additional magic abilities to his bonded icon as if he had the Create Wondrous Item feat. The magic properties of a bonded icon, including any magic abilities added to the object, only function for the iconodule who owns it. If a bonded icon's owner dies, or the item is replaced, the object reverts to being an ordinary (un)holy symbol.

If a bonded icon is damaged, it is restored to full hit points the next time the icondodule prepares his spells. If a bonded icon is lost or destroyed, it can be replaced after 1 week in a special ritual that costs 200 gp per icondodule level. This ritual takes 8 hours to complete. An iconodule can designate an existing magic (un)holy symbol as his bonded icon. This functions in the same way as replacing a lost or destroyed item except that the new magic (un)holy symbol retains its abilities while gaining the benefits and drawbacks of becoming a bonded icon.

This replaces arcane bond.

Bonus Languages

An inconodule's bonus language options include Celestial, Abyssal, and Infernal (the languages of good, chaotic evil, and lawful evil outsiders, respectively). These choices are in addition to the bonus languages available to the character because of her race and replaces the bonus languages of the wizard.

Chaotic, Evil, Good, and Lawful Spells

An icondodule can't cast spells of an alignment opposed to her own or her patron's (if she has one). Spells associated with particular alignments are indicated by the chaotic, evil, good, and lawful descriptors in their spell descriptions.

Table: Iconodule

Level Base Attack Bonus Fort Save Ref Save Will Save Special Spells per Day
0 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th
1st +0 +0 +0 +2 Bonded icon, cantrips, clerical studies (orisons), Scribe Scroll 3 1
2nd +1 +0 +0 +3 Clerical Studies (1st) 4 2
3rd +1 +1 +1 +3 4 2 1
4th +2 +1 +1 +4 Clerical Studies (2nd) 4 3 2
5th +2 +1 +1 +4 Bonus feat 4 3 2 1
6th +3 +2 +2 +5 Clerical Studies (3rd) 4 3 3 2
7th +3 +2 +2 +5 4 4 3 2 1
8th +4 +2 +2 +6 Clerical Studies (4th) 4 4 3 3 2
9th +4 +3 +3 +6 4 4 4 3 2 1
10th +5 +3 +3 +7 Bonus feat, clerical Studies (5th) 4 4 4 3 3 2
11th +5 +3 +3 +7 4 4 4 4 3 2 1
12th +6/+1 +4 +4 +8 Clerical Studies (6th) 4 4 4 4 3 3 2
13th +6/+1 +4 +4 +8 4 4 4 4 4 3 2 1
14th +7/+2 +4 +4 +9 Clerical Studies (7th) 4 4 4 4 4 3 3 2
15th +7/+2 +5 +5 +9 Bonus feat 4 4 4 4 4 4 3 2 1
16th +8/+3 +5 +5 +10 Clerical Studies (8th) 4 4 4 4 4 4 3 3 2
17th +8/+3 +5 +5 +10 4 4 4 4 4 4 4 3 2 1
18th +9/+4 +6 +6 +11 Clerical Studies (9th) 4 4 4 4 4 4 4 3 3 2
19th +9/+4 +6 +6 +11 4 4 4 4 4 4 4 4 3 3
20th +10/+5 +6 +6 +12 Bonus feat 4 4 4 4 4 4 4 4 4 4

Summary of Changed Class Abilities

  • Arcane Bond
  • Arcane School
  • Bonus Languages
OGL logo.png The text in this article is Open Game Content. It is covered by the Open Game License v1.0a, rather than the Hastur copyright. To distinguish it, these items will have this notice. If you see any page that contains OGL material and does not show this license statement, please contact one of the Hastur administrators. Please note that images used in article may have different copyright than the text.